Asparagus Hash


Although hash is traditionally a breakfast food, this version makes a wonderful  meal any of day. This recipe feeds one, but you can easily multiply it to make more. It’s a bigger meal, but oh, so delicious!

I came up with it because there was a local restaurant advertising plates of hash as specials. I love hash, but didn’t want to load up on simple carbs (potatoes) and fatty meats (bacon). Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against tasty food, so I came up with my own hash recipe using the foods I like most.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 lb asparagus washed, trimmed, and cut into 1 – 1 1/2 inch pieced – the thin spring ones are the best. If you use the thicker ones, peel the stems before you cook them.
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 slices all natural oven roasted beef from deli (I like Boar’s Head)
  • Seasoning, to taste (This can have salt or no salt, but try to make sure it’s all natural. I like Tastefully Simple’s Green Tea and Peppercorn blend, but any will do.)
  • 1 organic egg
  • 5 fresh mint leaves, chiffonade (you can use parsley if you prefer and then I’d suggest you use flat leaf parsley so as not to overwhelm the egg)

Instructions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a skillet until it ripples. Add asparagus, garlic, and a dash of seasoning. Stir fry until asparagus just starts to soften but is still crisp.
  2. Slice beef into bite sized pieces. Saute with asparagus mixture until warmed through. Turn heat to med-low.
  3. Gather mixture into the center. Crack egg over top, keeping the yolk in tact. Sprinkle with a dash of seasoning. Cover and cook until whites are opaque and yolk just begins to set. Make sure yolk doesn’t cook through.
  4. Slide onto plate and sprinkle with the chiffonade of mint.

The bottom is crunchy, the veggies are al dente, the yolk breaks over the dish for a decadent sauce. Please enjoy my recipe.

If you are looking for a vegetarian option (I’m happily omnivorous myself) substitute thinly sliced portabello mushrooms for the beef. You’ll retain the same robust texture.

See my blog post on “How to Chiffonade,” for instructions on cutting the mint.

Leave a Reply

