Gobble ‘n Greens


I love greens; so much so that I bought a bunch of them at the farmers market today. I bought what the vendor called “Water” greens and collard greens. Made the traditional way, in a pressure cooker with a ham hock or turkey necks, this delicious side dish can take some considerable time. I wanted to make some tonight, in less than 1 hour. (Yes mom, I know I’m impatient.)

Now, in my household, sometimes side dish is translated into “optional.” I wanted to avoid that hurdle by using turkey sausage with the greens and making it a full meal. I thought, why can’t I use the techniques that I use with making curry in a hurry and apply it to this dish? Well, my experiment worked out wonderfully and now I’d like to share the recipe with you.

What makes this recipe work?

  • I used turkey sausage and browned it outside of the casing so the flavorful meat peppered throughout the dish.
  • I simmered the greens and cooked the sausage separately to cut down on cooking time.
  • I spiced it up a little!

Dark leafy greens are such a healthy addition to your diet you’ll want to make versions of this every week!

Gobble ‘n Greens

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup vegetable stock (I use an organic brand)
  • 2 bunches dark leafy greens washed and cut into strips (I used water greens and collard greens) to make approx. 6 cups.
  • 3 turkey sausage, hot, squeezed out of casing (Jennio turkey sausage comes in packs of 5)
  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • Dash cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • Salt/pepper seasoned to taste
  • 1 tsp (or so) cumin
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil

Instructions:

  1. Add vegetable stock to a large pan and heat to simmering. Add the strips of greens as you cut them. The greens will far overflow the amount of stock, and that’s what you want.
  2. Season with salt and pepper, dash of cayenne, and nutmeg. Cover and let simmer. Greens will begin to wilt.
  3. While greens are cooking, add 1 Tbsp olive oil to a fry pan. Add the bulk (out of casing) sausage. Break sausage down so the pieces are small and brown. No pink should show. Add the cumin and season with a little salt and pepper.
  4. Add the chopped tomato and continue cooking until turkey is browned and tomatoes begin to break down. This should take between 3-5 mins.
  5. Stir greens in pot to mix the top with the bottom. Add the turkey and tomato mixture. Return cover to pan and simmer for another 10-15 mins.

You can serve this over rice (white or brown) or short pasta like ziti or penne. I prefer it over a piece of toasted, sprouted bread. The sprouted bread is higher in protein, is less processed and has more nutrients.

Cut up strawberries and bananas or grapes and serve with dinner for a complete meal.

I hope you enjoy this version of greens. Let me know how you like it and if you have any other ideas to “truss” it up.

One response to “Gobble ‘n Greens

  1. Pingback: It’s Not Easy Being Greens | Yummy Mummy's Food Journey·

Leave a Reply

