Tomatoes with Creamy Goat Cheese and Mint


My mom is a nibbler. She takes a little nibble of this and that from my plate and others, never really sitting down to a full plate of her own. One day when veggies from the farmers market were overflowing my counter, I decided to make us a little buffet of recipes…many of which you see on this blog. This is one of her favorites. Expecting her to take a taste, I made these stuffed tomatoes. I asked if she wanted a whole tomato to herself. “No,” she said, “I’ll just take a nibble of yours.” So I put a tomato, stuffed with creamy melted goat cheese, mint, and garlic, on a plate to share. She took one bite and said, “Get your own.”

I hope you enjoy this simple, healthy recipe as much as she did, and my family does. There is so much variety in the grocery stores now that you can easily find organic goat cheese, mint and tomatoes. The farmers markets are overflowing with tomatoes, so venture out to try the “typical” varieties and even some of the heirloom tomatoes. They are so beautiful.

Ingredients:

  • 4 tomatoes, cut in half, seeds removed
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, salted and turned to paste
  • 1/4 cup goat cheese
  • 2 Tbsp fresh mint, chopped finely

Instructions:

  1. Heat frying pan on medium high. When hot, add olive oil and spread around.
  2. Place the tomatoes, cut side down, in frying pan. When browned, flip over and turn heat to low. The tomato will slowly soften. In the meantime, make the stuffing.
  3. Put remaining ingredients in a bowl and mash together with a spoon. Stuff into tomatoes cooking in the pan.
  4. When cheese is melty and warm, remove from pan and eat immediately.

Yummy…I need to make this today! Let me know what you think.

One response to “Tomatoes with Creamy Goat Cheese and Mint

Leave a Reply

