Breakfast of Near Champions


There are days I feel just beat. I’m hungry when I wake up, and still drained from the day before. Throughout my journey learning about healthy foods, and the benefits of eating foods that are unprocessed, I discovered that my seemingly healthy breakfast of bran flakes, raisins, and walnuts was (gasp!) very processed and full of sugars. Here I thought I was doing something good for my body. I had a couple of things right. I was trying to get in fiber and healthy fats, but the processed flakes just did me in.

I flashed back to my days in England when I discovered Muesli. This apparently random assortment of nuts and grains was a staple for me then. Thanks to the book, “Revive” (once named “Spent” — which is another blog post all together) I discovered an easy way to get in cereal in a whole food, easy to digest, filling, and nutritious way. Whew…sounds difficult and time-consuming, yes? No. Once I week I spend a about 15 mins. assembling the cereal and I store it in the fridge. The recipe makes 4 servings, so I’m set for the week. The mix stays fresh for some time, so if I wanted to vary and try, say, a Stawberry-Banana Almond smoothie, I can do that too. For more information on the book, visit this site: http://www.drfranklipman.com/my-books-landing-page/

These are my two favorite breakfasts, not only because they are delicious, but because they keep me full for so long into the morning. Although we all start the day eating like champions, the stress of life can erode our resolve is we’re not full and satisfied from a nutrient perspective. I’ll post the smoothie recipe soon and in another post, so I can explain the benefits of the ingredients.

Here is some advice from http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/food-and-nutrition/NU00197 on starting your day with a healthy breakfast.

The basics of a healthy breakfast

Even though you know a healthy breakfast has many benefits, you may not be sure what exactly counts as a healthy breakfast.

Here’s what forms the core of a healthy breakfast:

  • Whole grains.
  • Low-fat protein.
  • Low-fat dairy.
  • Fruits and vegetables.

Together, these core groups provide complex carbohydrates, fiber, protein and a small amount of fat — a combination that packs big health benefits and that also can leave you feeling full for hours.

The benefits of a healthy breakfast

Breakfast gives you a chance to start each day with a healthy and nutritious meal. It also lays the foundation for lifelong health benefits.

Benefits for adults
When you eat a healthy breakfast, you’re more likely to:

  • Eat more vitamins and minerals
  • Eat less fat and cholesterol
  • Have better concentration and productivity throughout the morning
  • Control your weight
  • Have lower cholesterol, which may reduce your risk of heart disease

Benefits for children
Breakfast is especially important for children and adolescents. According to the American Dietetic Association, children who eat a healthy breakfast are more likely to:

  • Concentrate better
  • Have better problem-solving skills
  • Have better hand-eye coordination
  • Be more alert
  • Be more creative
  • Miss fewer days of school
  • Be more physically active

This recipe fulfills the basics of a healthy breakfast outlined by the Mayo Clinic.

Natural Muesli

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oats, steel-cut, organic
  • 2 Tbsp coconut, shredded, unsweetened
  • 2 Tbsp walnuts or almonds, chopped (raw, unsalted)
  • 2 Tbsp flaxseeds
  • 2 Tbsp sunflower seeds (raw, unsalted)
  • 2 Tbsp pumpkin seeds or Pepita (raw, unsalted)

Instructions:

  1. Toast nuts, sunflower seeds, Pepita in the toaster oven for 3-5 mins. Don’t let them burn!
  2. Combine all in a bowl, then store in an airtight container in the fridge.

To Eat:

  • Measure 1/2 cup into a cereal bowl.
  • Add 1/2 – 1 cup unsweetened, vanilla, almond milk
  • Top with 1/4-1/2 chopped apple
  • Let the milk soak in a little and enjoy!

This recipe makes 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

