Roasted Brussels Sprouts


I realize that there are many “recipes” for this side dish out there. It’s pretty straightforward and absolutely my favorite way to eat Brussels sprouts. I got a big container at the farmers market. Why did I post this if the instructions are readily available? This way, you won’t have to leave my site to find instructions for a complete meal…it’s all right here. Ingenious I say, ingenious!

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs Brussels sprouts, washed, ends cut off, yellow leaves peeled off
  • Generous drizzle of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Leftover bacon, crumbled (optional! If you don’t like or don’t eat it leave it out. It’s the only way I can get the “men” in my house to eat them.)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Cut any sprouts that are too big to make sure they are all about the same size.
  3. Put them all on a baking sheet, drizzle with oil, add a generous pinch (use many fingers, not just two) of salt and several grinds of pepper. Mix so they are all coated and lovely.
  4. Put in oven and roast for 30-45 mins. (It depends on your oven. They should be sizzling and show signs of browning and crisping.)
  5. IF using bacon, crumble prepared bacon over the sprouts in the last 3-5 mins.

Spoon into a serving dish and enjoy warm and toasty!

One response to “Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. BEST BRUSSELS SPROUTS I’VE EVER HAD! My 3 year old said “can I have more brussels sprouts after I eat my brussels sprouts?” I also noticed that when he asked for more he handed me a bowl that had nothing in it except for a little bacon at the bottom. Bacon! Which he loves! Was what was *left*!

Leave a Reply

