Stuffed Peppers with Turkey and Brown Rice


I remember going to my husband’s friend’s house. I didn’t know the family very well at the time, so I was looking forward to dinner to get to know them. I will never forget how one of the boys, I think he was 10 or 11 at the time, asked what we were having for dinner. My husband and I didn’t have kids yet, and had I, what the little boy said next would have been more amazing. He said, “Are we having stuffed peppers mom? Yes! That’s my favorite!” I’m still waiting for the day my boys get that excited over stuffed peppers, but they are are getting closer and closer with this healthy and tasty recipe.

6 servings (and you might have some filling left over…my boys do love the filling)

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz (one package) ground turkey breast
  • 15 oz can crushed tomatoes, organic if possible
  • 2 cups brown rice, cook according to package directions
  • 2 cups corn kernels (if frozen, rinse to thaw)
  • 1 cup shredded cheese, divided ½ cup and ½ cup
  • 1 Tbsp seasoned salt (I like Tastefully Simple)
  • 6 large sweet red peppers, tops cut off, insides cleaned out
  • Water for bottom of the pan

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Cook ground turkey with seasoned salt, breaking up meat as it cooks and until no longer pink. Turn off heat.
  3. Add crushed tomatoes, cooked brown rice, corn, and ½ cup shredded cheese.
  4. Arrange 2 peppers per 8×8 cooking dish, or all 6 in a 9×13 dish. Peppers should fit snuggly. Put a little water at the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle the remaining ½ cup cheese on top of the peppers.
  5. Cook for 25 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and peppers are soft.

I hope your family will get excited over having these stuffed peppers for dinner.

Modifications:

Mexican–Add salsa or chili spice to the meat and tomatoes. Use diced tomatoes with Jalapeños and use a blend of taco cheese on top.

Greek–chop up some Greek olives and use feta cheese instead of shredded cheese.

Italian–use spaghetti sauce seasoning and shredded mozzarella in the meat and tomato mixture and slice fresh mozzarella over top. Finish with a chiffonade of basil.

 

Leave a Reply

