Pumpkin Chocolate Smoothie


Oh yum! It took me a few tries to get this recipe the way I wanted, but it is SO very worth it. I wanted to create a smoothie out of the delicious pumpkin puree I made. For instructions on making fresh pumpkin puree, see my “How did you?” page. I strongly recommend it for flavor, sweetness, and to stay as whole and unprocessed as possible. I also used cocoa nibs that I processed, but you could use cocoa powder. I think you’ll miss the chocolate chip-like texture, but I’m sure it will be wonderful. Finally, I wrote the recipe without greens powder, but let me make this pitch. The greens powder actually adds a subtle dimension of flavor, but the pumpkin and chocolate still shine through. What you are getting is a much more nutritious smoothie that gives your body what it needs in the morning. ‘Nuff said.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk, unsweetened, vanilla flavored
  • 2 Tbsp almond butter, organic, unsweetened if you can find it
  • 1 small, organic banana, frozen if you think of putting it in the freezer
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree, fresh if possible
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, OR a bare pinch of ground cloves (Note: ground cloves is like red paint, a little goes a long way) + 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon + 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 Tbsp ground cocoa nibs (or unsweetened cocoa powder)
  • 1 tsp – 1 Tbsp agave syrup (Note: agave is a natural sweetener, but be aware that it has more calories than sugar for the same amount) Start with 1 tsp, taste, then add more if you want it sweeter.
  • 4 ice cubes
  • 2 tsp greens powder (recommended but optional)

Instructions:

  • Put all in a blender or smoothie maker and blend until smooth

Fancy coffee shop smoothie sellers — watch out! This smoothie is thick, robust with pumpkin, balanced with chocolate, and yes, it’s good for you!

Leave a Reply

