Bombay Applesauce (Crock Pot)


This recipe is not from Bombay, but with the addition of some Indian spices you’ll get a taste of the historic city. For those unsure about Indian spices, it is not spicy. When you serve it your guests will ask, “What’s that wonderful flavor I taste?” You can keep it as your secret or you can share the link to this post. There is no question as to which I’d prefer…

I didn’t come up with the whole process by myself, in fact, the recipe is a riff on this recipe. I hope you enjoy it…frankly, I’m addicted to it.

Ingredients:

  • 7-8 apples (I prefer organic apples, those in season and that are a bit tart)
  • 1/4 tsp Garam Masala, divided (you can find this in the fancy spice section of your local grocery store)
  • 1/8 tsp ground Ginger (unless you want a bit of a kick in which case double it to 1/4 tsp)
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • bare dash of Nutmeg
  • 2 Tbsp Stevia OR 1/4 c of Agave syrup
  • 1/3 cup water

Instructions:

  1. Wash, core, and roughly dice apples. Keep the pieces about 2 inches in size so they don’t turn to mush. Put them in the slow cooker/crock pot.
  2. Add 1/8 tsp of the Garam Masala and the rest of the spices. Pour water over the top and stir.
  3. Cover and cook on high for 3-4 hours.
  4. When done, mash the apples a little, but leave some chunks. (If you don’t like any chunks you can blend the applesauce too.)
  5. Stir in the remaining 1/8 tsp of the Garam Masala.
  6. Serve warm!

You’ll never go back to jarred sauce.

Note: Since I’m always running out of apples now that I’ve started making this, I don’t have apples to put on my natural muesli, so I heated the muesli and put a dollop of Bombay applesauce on it (pictured). Out of this world!

3 responses to “Bombay Applesauce (Crock Pot)

  1. The apple sauce looks delicious this is something else i am going to make next time i go to the grocery store Thanks for sharing

  2. This is the best applesauce I have ever had.. (Even when I have had my chef make some) its better this his. Love the spices I added a little extra Ginger to it and it was amazing. but over all I will add this to my oatmeal and it will be a great addition. I want to also make like a double batch and freeze some if possible.

Leave a Reply

