Beef and Veggie Spanish Style Rice (Slow Cooker)


I can’t believe I was craving a casserole type of thing. But it happened. I wanted something warm and comforting and cooked together in a crock pot. Rice has always comforted me and I started to think. What if I could have a Spanish style stuffed pepper without having to stuff the pepper? Enter this delicious recipe. Now, I must tell you that I normally don’t like to eat leftovers day after day. I think when my husband tried to take one of the measured portions of this dish for his lunch I popped a vein. Bad girl, my mom would say, didn’t I teach you how to share? Make and share this dish with people around you and they’ll love you for it. The recipe makes 6 servings after all.

Yes, mom, I did share..though not as willingly as I should have.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Vadalia onion, small dice
  • 1 large yellow pepper, small dice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup uncooked brown rice
  • 1 lb raw, extra lean ground beef
  • 2 Tbsp Salsa seasoning (I like Tastefully Simple’s all natural version) – Taco Seasoning will work too.
  • 1/2 Tbsp seasoned salt (Big surprise, I like Tastefully Simple’s version)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 canned Jalapeno or chopped fresh. (If you want more heat, add more pepper.)
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 3/4 cup canned, organic, tomato sauce
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 2 cups water
  • Tortilla chips, crushed, for topping

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Instructions:

  1. Add oil to hot pan and saute onions and yellow pepper.
  2. Add ground beef and cook until no pink remains.
  3. Add spices and seasonings and cooking until fragrant (about 1 min.)
  4. Put everything in a crock pot, stir, and cook on high for 3-4  hours.

Beef and Veggie Spanish Style Rice calculates to 8 PointsPlus (TM). It’s worth every point as the dish tastes better the next day, and the day after…and the day after…

 

Leave a Reply

